KubeAcademy: Introduction to Containers and Kubernetes

August 17, 2020

Event Overview

Ready to dive a little deeper into the world of Kubernetes? Understand the first principles of a cloud native infrastructure, and then dig into our lab environment to containerise and deploy your first application on Kubernetes. This training is designed for attendees who are early in their cloud-native journey—you will walk out with more knowledge of basic concepts and greater comfort in working with containers.

Attendees will:
  • Learn about Containers and use Docker files to containerise applications
  • Become familiar with authoring YAML files and their syntax
  • Understand Kubernetes from a user facing concept perspective (Pods, Services, Deployments, Labels, etc.)
  • Become familiar with kubectl and its commands/usage
  • Understand the cloud native and design principles of Kubernetes and its architecture
  • And more
Prerequisites:
  • Laptop with the latest version of Chrome or Firefox
  • Linux concepts and command line proficiency
  • General networking proficiency
This workshop will be taught in English. If you have any issues joining, please email [email protected]

Agenda

 
12:45 - 13:00 BST
13:45 - 14:00 CEST
Virtual Registration and Audio/Visual Testing

13:00 - 13:45 BST
14:00 - 14:45 CEST
Introduction to Containers

13:45 - 14:30 BST
14:45 - 15:30 CEST
Containerise Applications (Lab)

14:30 - 15:00 BST
15:30 - 16:00 CEST
Kubernetes Fundamentals

15:00 - 15:45 BST
16:00 - 16:45 CEST
Deploy Applications with Kubernetes (Lab)

15:45 - 16:00 BST
16:45 - 17:00 CEST
Open Q&A


Code of conduct

VMware is dedicated to providing and promoting a safe and inclusive environment for everyone, regardless of gender identity and expression, sexual orientation, disability, neurodiversity, physical appearance, body size, ethnicity, nationality, race, age, religion, or other protected categories. Because we don’t always know what might make someone else feel uncomfortable or unwelcome, these guidelines are meant to reinforce our values and clarify our expectations of all of those who participate in our community and events. They also define unacceptable behavior and provide instructions on what you can do if you see unacceptable behavior.

We each have different backgrounds and experiences. At VMware, we have three core values that we expect all to abide by: do the right thing, do what works, and be kind.

Expected behavior

  1. Be considerate, respectful, and collaborative.
  2. Refrain from using any demeaning, discriminatory, or harassing behavior and speech.

Unacceptable behavior

Unacceptable behavior may include, but is not limited to, the following:

  1. Harassment and discrimination, which includes: any verbal, physical, or visual conduct based on sex, sexual orientation, gender expression or identity, transgender status, race, age, national origin, disability, or other protected characteristics; inappropriate use of nudity and/or sexual images in public spaces (including presentation slides); deliberate intimidation, stalking, or following; harassing photography or recording; sustained disruption of sessions, talks, or other events; and inappropriate physical contact, or any unwelcome sexual attention.
  2. Using any boisterous, lewd, or offensive behavior or language; using sexually explicit or offensive language or conduct; using profanity, obscene gestures, or racial, religious, homophobic, transphobic, or ethnic slurs; commenting about a person’s body or sexual activity; and discussing sexual activity.
  3. Failing to obey any of the rules or regulations of the event or instructions of the event staff.
  4. Participating in any other illegal activity not already covered above.

Consequences of unacceptable behavior

We won’t tolerate unacceptable behavior. If a participant engages in unacceptable behavior, the event organizers may take any action they deem appropriate, up to and including expulsion from the event without warning or refund and, if appropriate, involving local law enforcement. Anyone asked to stop unacceptable behavior is expected to comply immediately.

How to report unacceptable behavior

If you have a complaint or concern about harassment, discrimination, bullying, or any other conduct that violates the VMware Events Code of Conduct, please contact [email protected].

We thank our attendees in advance for your help in keeping the event welcoming, respectful, and friendly to all participants.


Register

Thank you!

Thank you for your interest. Registration for this event is closed.

We look forward to you joining us.

Location

675 Ponce de Leon Avenue NE
Suite 7500
Atlanta, GA 30308
Get directions